Friday, March 18, 2011

Save The Clocktower - Carousel

Carousel is a seamless mix of electronic and traditional instruments that is complimented nicely by the post rock styled vocals. Chicago based   Save The Clocktower is Greg Newton on drums/ vocals, Sean Paras on guitar/ vocals, and Jimmy Shenk on keyboards. The sound is rooted in electronic and uses traditional instruments as accents.

"Drip" is a nice groove oriented track that pulls more heavily from the electronic elements and is more of a dance track.

The pop wave sounds of "Taped Noise" feature some nice choices on the vocal mix that mimics the shimmery sound of the song.

"Take Me There" is my favorite track on Carousel and hearkens to 80's new wave mashed up with modern electronica which is all anchored by a strong melody.

If you enjoy new wave and post punk like I do, then you enjoy this album.  There are some nice touches with where the vocals are put in the mix that make the melodies that much stronger. 

You can buy Carousel here :  Keep an eye out for Save the Clocktower playing out in Chicago.


Post a Comment